Khaled Alkhamissi

A writer and a novelist

Things to know About 8th House in Vedic Astrology

Things to know About 8th House in Vedic Astrology


The Vedic knowledge of astronomy has been on the run for centuries as of now. The art of reading planets and their positions and how that plays a vital role in governing our everyday lives has been embedded in the holy scriptures for time immemorial as of now. The thorough understanding of the planets, stars and their positions are important for accurate predictions. The celestial sphere is divided into a total of twelve equal parts in 30 degrees each. Every single of these parts represents one of the zodiac signs. There’s a total of twelve different zodiac signs.

No matter where your position is while being born on earth, there’s always a local horizon. The spot where the sky meets the earth. Almost the whole zodiac sign belts ascend from the Eastern horizon. This happens because of the daily rotation of the earth around its axis. At the exact time and place that an individual takes birth, the exact degrees or the points of the house division are marked. It is also named as the ascendant This is because of the reason that the sun always rises from the East that denotes innumerable new beginnings.

Everything that you need to know about the 8th house.

This is to be taken into account that one can only see six houses at any given location at a particular moment. The rest of the houses are placed below the horizon. As mentioned earlier, the starting point is the Eastern side. The first house begins from the same Eastern side which is then followed by the other houses in anti-clockwise motion this is also the reason that the 1st to 6th houses aren’t visible in the skies. The point exactly one’s head is the starting point of the 10th house for someone who’s just born in your location. The point placed on the western horizon is the beginning point. right opposite to the 10th house arises the fourth house. The Fourth point is naturally not visible as it is below the horizon.

The 8th house represents your natal chart which is associated with most intimate and vulnerable human entanglements. These include the likes of sex, other people’s money (as in loans, grants, bursaries), fears, intimacy, psychology, magic, secrets, organized religion, power struggles, reproductive organs and ability, transformation, death, your sense of physical attraction and so on. The eighth house is also called the Ayu Bhava in Vedic astrology. It relates to the sign of Scorpio, which is known for characteristics such as the whirlwind air of mystery, possessiveness, passion and ambition.

If you’re someone who possesses personal planets in the eighth house- like planets as of the sun, moon, Venus, Mars, and Mercury- this means there’s always a part of you that has more of it hidden in the shadow. A secret self that seldom reveals itself. Since this also has to do with whatever we fear, whatever at times that traps us, one could be afraid of showing that part to others and prefer sealing it out.

The endnote :

These are the areas of life most of us avoid and with good reason, as to dwell here is to be given in to submit willingly. Ruled by Scorpio and Pluto, whatever planets it’s not the case that whatever goes on in the eighth house is necessarily bad, but it’s scary because it can deal with the self that people hide even from themselves. The placement of different planets in houses based on their movement in the sky during the time of one’s birth helps you know more about the various life situations that you have to sail across.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *